Hope Valley Snowmobile Tour: Summit Ride with Scenic Views
This Hope Valley snowmobile tour puts you on your own sled for two hours of riding on groomed Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest trails, climbing from a trailhead at 7,200 ft to about 8,300 ft with views of the Sierra Crest near 10,000 ft. It books at $254.40 (single rider), which is the lowest price among the guided listings we track, and it is the only one with free cancellation up to 2 days ahead. The catch is time. You check in at Zephyr Cove Resort 2 hours 15 minutes before your ride and reach the trailhead on the operator's shuttle, so a two-hour ride is closer to a five-hour outing. This page covers what the price buys, the hour-by-hour shape of the day, the age and weight rules, and who should book a different tour. Start with the full Lake Tahoe snowmobile tour comparison if you are still choosing.
About This Tour
You drive a snowmobile yourself, after a safety talk and driving instruction, following a guide through Hope Valley in Alpine County, California. The route runs through Faith Valley, crosses Charity Valley below Markleeville Peak past historic settler cabins, then follows the rim of Charity Canyon up to about 8,300 ft, where the trail levels out to a panorama that includes a peak named The Nipple. Reviewers describe the pace as beginner-friendly, and the operator's fleet and guide are covered in the price.
What the listing does not tell you upfront is the length of the whole outing. You check in at Zephyr Cove Resort on the Nevada shore 2 hours 15 minutes before your ride time, then board a free shuttle to Hope Valley, because the Forest Service trail requires authorised transport and guests cannot park at the trailhead. Add the return leg and you are looking at roughly 4.5 to 5 hours door to door for two hours on snow. Snow clothing is also not in the price. Bibs, jackets, boots and gloves rent on site for $12 an item.
$254.40 for a single rider. The Double Rider option, a driver 16 or older plus a passenger 5 or older, is priced per sled and shown at checkout, with a 450 lb weight limit per sled.
2 hours on the sled. The full outing from check-in runs roughly 4.5 to 5 hours including the 2 h 15 min check-in window and the shuttle.
Check in at Zephyr Cove Resort, 760 US Hwy 50, Zephyr Cove, Nevada, then shuttle to the Hope Valley trailhead in Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest. Trailhead elevation 7,200 ft, climbing to 8,300 ft.
Single or double sled. Drivers must be 16 or older with a driver's licence or government ID, passengers 5 or older, 450 lb limit per double sled. Riders under 18 need written parental or guardian consent. Not suitable for children under 4.
A D.O.T. certified helmet, the snowmobile and the guide are included. Bibs, jackets, snow boots and gloves rent on site for $12 each or $40 for the three-item package per the listing.
Free cancellation up to 2 days before for a full refund. Tours may still be cancelled or rescheduled for snow, weather or other conditions.
Check Dates and Availability
Sample departure times are 9:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on a winter date, with exact times shown when you pick a date. The posted season window runs from early December to late April, pending snow.
Quick answer Two hours on the sled, five hours all told, and the only refundable listing
The Hope Valley snowmobile tour costs $254.40 for a single rider and includes 2 hours of driving your own sled on groomed Forest Service trails from 7,200 ft up to 8,300 ft. It is the cheapest listing we track and the only one with free cancellation up to 2 days ahead. Snow gear costs extra at $12 per item on site.
Key takeaways
- Budget a full half day: check-in at Zephyr Cove Resort is 2 hours 15 minutes before the ride and the shuttle is the only way to the trailhead. See what the day is really like.
- Not included: meals, snow gear rental ($12 an item) and the collision damage waiver fee. The full breakdown is in what the price actually covers.
- Drivers need to be 16 or older with ID, passengers 5 or older, 450 lb limit per double sled. Details in who this tour rules out.
- If you would rather skip the shuttle, the Zephyr Cove lakeview tour leaves from the resort itself but is non-refundable.
What the Price Actually Covers
The listing's green-check includes are shorter than the price headline suggests. Here is what $254.40 buys, what it does not, and where the extras land.
Included and Not Included
Four things carry the green check on the listing: a D.O.T. certified helmet, the snowmobile, the guide, and transport to and from the tour if you pick the with-pickup option. Everything else on the listing's merged includes list is not in the price, and three extras matter in practice. Snow clothing rents on site for $12 an item or $40 for the package of three per the listing (the resort's own gear page lists the complete package at $45, a conflict worth knowing before you budget). Meals and drinks are not included. The collision damage waiver fee is listed as not included, and the listing does not state its amount.
Against the other bookable listings this is still the low number. The lakeview tour from Zephyr Cove is $286.20 and the Reno snowmobile package is $429, both non-refundable. This Hope Valley listing at $254.40 is the only one offering a full refund up to 2 days out.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Snowmobile and guide | Yes | You drive after a safety talk and driving instruction |
| D.O.T. certified helmet | Yes | Supplied at no charge |
| Shuttle to the Hope Valley trailhead | Yes | Free from Zephyr Cove Resort or the listed pickup stops, both directions |
| Snow gear (bibs, jacket, boots, gloves) | No | $12 each on site, $40 package per listing, $45 package per the resort gear page |
| Meals and beverages | No | Bring your own snacks and water |
| Collision damage waiver fee | No | Listed as not included, amount not stated |
Sources: the operator's own listing on GetYourGuide, and Zephyr Cove Resort snowmobile information.
Groomed trails on the rim above Hope Valley climb to about 8,300 ft.
What the Day Is Really Like
The listing states a two-hour ride, a 2 h 15 min check-in lead and shuttle departure lead times for each stop. Put together, the outing looks like this.
Check-in and the shuttle leg
Arrive at Zephyr Cove Resort 2 hours 15 minutes before your tour time for sign-up, suit-up and boarding. Shuttles from the nine South Shore pickup stops leave even earlier: 115 minutes before at WorldMark by Wyndham, 105 at the Golden Nugget, 100 at Edgewood, 95 at Caesars Republic, 90 at 3 Peaks, 85 at Harrah's, 80 at the Heavenly Village Marriott stop and 75 at Ski Run/LTVA. Pickups must be confirmed at least 24 hours ahead, and shuttles only stop at confirmed locations.
Driving yourself? Park free at the resort. Parking at the trailhead is not possible, the operator says, because the trail is Forest Service regulated and requires authorised transport.
With-pickup bookings get the shuttle from the stops at no charge.
The ride itself
After a brief orientation, safety talk and driving instruction at the trailhead, you ride your own sled behind the guide. The route climbs fast out of Hope Valley for views over Faith Valley with the Sierra Crest near 10,000 ft behind it, crosses Charity Valley below Markleeville Peak past cabins built by early settlers, then runs the rim of Charity Canyon up to about 8,300 ft, where the trail levels out for a panorama of The Nipple. Two hours later you are back at the trailhead, and the shuttle returns you to Zephyr Cove.
One verified reviewer described groups of 7 snowmobiles with one guide, though the listing itself states no group size. The whole thing from resort check-in to return runs roughly 4.5 to 5 hours.
Hope Valley Summit Tour on Video
A rider films the Hope Valley trail up to the overlook of the Sierra Crest. Third-party video by Zgirl_2009. We did not shoot it and have no relationship with the creator.
Who This Tour Rules Out
The rules are stated plainly on the listing, and a few of them end plans before they start.
Age, licence and weight limits
Sled operators must be at least 16 with proof of age, either a driver's licence or a government-issued ID. Passengers on a double sled must be at least 5, and double sleds carry a 450 lb limit. Children under 4 are not suitable for this tour at all.
Riders under 18 need written parental or guardian consent per the operator. If your group is two adults over the 450 lb combined limit, you will need two single sleds at $254.40 each. The age and consent rules are covered in more depth in the first-timer's guide to snowmobiling at Tahoe.
Stated exclusions and the weather risk
The listing excludes children under 4 and states that tours may be cancelled or rescheduled due to snow, weather or other conditions. That is a real possibility, not fine print: the ride depends on natural snow on Forest Service trails, and the posted season window runs only from early December to late April pending weather. Because this listing has free cancellation up to 2 days ahead, you carry less risk here than on the non-refundable alternatives, but still book with a flexible day in mind. The season and snow picture is explained in our guide to South Lake Tahoe snowmobiling.
You cannot drive to the Hope Valley trailhead yourself. Every guest uses the complimentary shuttle from Zephyr Cove Resort or a confirmed pickup stop, which is why check-in is 2 hours 15 minutes ahead. If half-day logistics do not suit your schedule, the Zephyr Cove lakeview tour departs directly from the resort with only a 1-hour check-in on the resort's own page, trading that convenience for a non-refundable booking.
Settler cabins stand along the Hope Valley trails in the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest.
What to Settle Before You Book
Four things decide whether this listing works for you: the cancellation window, the pickup confirmation, your clothing budget and your route to Zephyr Cove.
Cancellation and pickup confirmation
Free cancellation runs up to 2 days before for a full refund, the most generous term of the listings on this site. The catch on the other side is the pickup option: shuttles must be confirmed at least 24 hours before the tour, they stop only at confirmed locations, and if you do not provide a pickup location you need to call the supplier. Get your pickup stop, your chosen departure time and the cancellation deadline confirmed with the operator in writing when you book.
What to wear
Dress for winter weather at 7,200 to 8,300 ft. The listing asks for warm clothing layers, closed-toe shoes (boots recommended) and sunscreen. If you do not own snow gear, bibs, jackets, snow boots and gloves rent on site for $12 each or $40 for the three-item package per the listing.
A base layer, waterproof outer shell, insulated gloves and goggles or glasses with good sun protection are the sensible minimum. The full layer-by-layer system is set out in our what-to-wear guide.
Getting to Zephyr Cove Resort
The check-in address is Zephyr Cove Resort, 760 US Hwy 50, Zephyr Cove, Nevada, and parking at the resort is free. The resort sits about 4 miles from the Stateline casinos. It is roughly 52 miles and a bit over an hour's drive from Reno-Tahoe International Airport, or the South Tahoe Airporter bus runs to Stateline several times a day.
Winter driving means chain controls: Caltrans R2 requires chains on all vehicles except 4WD/AWD with snow-tread tires on all four wheels, and R3 requires chains on everything. Check Caltrans QuickMap or call 800-427-7623 before you drive. If you would rather not drive at all, pick a shuttle stop or use the Reno package with hotel pickup.
Hour by Hour
Built from the listing's stated check-in lead, shuttle departure times and two-hour ride, using a 1:00 PM departure as the example clock time.
-
10:45 AM
Check in at Zephyr Cove Resort
Arrive at the resort lobby at 760 US Hwy 50, 2 hours 15 minutes before departure, for sign-up, waiver and suit-up. Free parking if you drove.
-
Board the shuttle
The complimentary shuttle leaves the resort for the Hope Valley trailhead. Guests cannot park at the trailhead, so the shuttle is the only way in.
-
Arrive and gear up
At the 7,200 ft trailhead the guide runs a brief orientation, safety talk and driving instruction. Helmets are supplied, rented gear is fitted here.
-
1:00 PM
Ride into Faith Valley
A rapid climb out of the valley opens views of Faith Valley and the Sierra Crest at nearly 10,000 ft.
-
Charity Valley and the canyon rim
Cross Charity Valley below Markleeville Peak past historic settler cabins, then follow the rim of Charity Canyon up to about 8,300 ft.
-
3:00 PM
Panorama and return
The trail levels out for a panoramic view of The Nipple before the ride ends back at the trailhead after two hours of riding.
-
Shuttle back to Zephyr Cove
The shuttle returns you to the resort, wrapping up an outing of roughly 4.5 to 5 hours from check-in.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of this listing against the other bookable options.
What we genuinely like
- Lowest price of the listings tracked here at $254.40 for a single rider
- The only listing with free cancellation, up to 2 days ahead for a full refund
- You drive your own sled for the full 2 hours on groomed Forest Service trails from 7,200 ft to 8,300 ft
- Nine free shuttle stops across Stateline and South Lake Tahoe, so you can skip the drive in winter conditions
- Beginner-friendly per reviewers, with a safety talk and driving instruction before you set off
The honest downsides
- The 2 h 15 min check-in and shuttle mean a two-hour ride eats close to five hours of your day
- Snow gear is not included: $12 an item on site adds up for a family
- You cannot drive to the trailhead yourself, so the shuttle schedule controls your day
- Tours can be cancelled or rescheduled for lack of snow, and the listing gives no group size
- The snow gear package price is listed at $40 but the resort's own gear page says $45, so budget for the higher figure
Who it's NOT for: Not for families with children under 4, anyone after a ride that starts at the door rather than a shuttle ride away, or anyone who cannot spare close to five hours for a two-hour ride.
Hope Valley Snowmobile Tour: Questions
How much does the Hope Valley snowmobile tour cost?
A single rider pays $254.40. The Double Rider option, a driver 16 or older plus a passenger 5 or older on one sled with a 450 lb limit, is priced per sled and shown at checkout. It is the lowest price of the listings in the Tahoe snowmobile tour comparison.
Can I drive my own car to the Hope Valley trailhead?
No. The operator states guests cannot park at the trailhead because the trail is Forest Service regulated and requires authorised transport, so everyone rides the free shuttle from Zephyr Cove Resort or a confirmed pickup stop. The stop-by-stop shuttle times are in our South Shore base guide.
What is not included in the tour price?
Meals and beverages, snow gear rental and the collision damage waiver fee are all listed as not included. Bibs, jackets, snow boots and gloves rent on site for $12 each, with a package price of $40 per the listing or $45 per the resort's own gear page. The full breakdown is in what the price covers.
Who can drive the snowmobile?
Drivers must be at least 16 with a driver's licence or government-issued ID, passengers must be at least 5, and double sleds carry a 450 lb limit. Riders under 18 need written parental or guardian consent. Children under 4 cannot join. More on the rules in the beginner's guide.
Can I cancel if the weather turns or my plans change?
Yes, free cancellation up to 2 days before for a full refund, which makes this the most flexible listing on the site. The operator can still cancel or reschedule for snow, weather or other conditions, so keep a spare day if the ride matters to your trip. Compare terms on the tour comparison page.
What should I wear for a ride at 7,200 to 8,300 ft?
Warm layers, closed-toe boots and sunscreen, with gloves and eye protection on top. If you lack snow gear, rent bibs, a jacket, boots and gloves on site rather than buying for one day. The full layering system is in what to wear snowmobiling.
Is there an option without the long shuttle leg?
Yes. The Zephyr Cove lakeview tour departs directly from Zephyr Cove Resort with a one-hour check-in per the resort's page, riding meadows and viewpoints near 9,000 ft above the lake. It costs $286.20 but is non-refundable once booked, which is the trade-off.
What Riders Said After This Tour
The experience was extraordinary. We had a great driver and guide on the trails. Both were friendly and accommodating.
I felt safe with the entire crew, especially the shuttle driver who was experienced driving in Tahoe's snowy road conditions.
Joe, our guide was very personable while being professional, educational and helpful!!
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure