Lake Tahoe Snowmobile TourAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Snowmobile Tour from Reno: Sierra Package Review

4.0/5 4 Viator reviews From $429 per person4 hoursNon-refundable

Sold and operated by Sierra Adventures (Activities Reno Tahoe, LLC). Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.

This snowmobile tour from Reno is the only bookable listing on this site that collects you at a Reno hotel. Sierra Adventures (Activities Reno Tahoe, LLC) runs a four-hour package with departures at 9am and 1pm, a professional guide, snacks and a four-wheel-drive shuttle to the start of the ride. It costs $429 per person, needs a minimum of two people per booking and takes up to 14 travellers in a shared group. That convenience has a price and some gaps: the booking is non-refundable, the listing does not name the riding area, and snow gear is handled separately. This page lays out what is known, what is not and what to ask the operator in writing before you pay. If you would rather compare it with the South Shore options, start with the full Tahoe snowmobile tour comparison.

Snowmobiles parked on a forested Sierra trail near Reno on a Lake Tahoe snowmobile tour package
4.0★4 reviews
$429per person
4 hoursduration
Nonecancellation
Check Availability

About This Tour

This is a four-hour snowmobile package out of Reno run by Sierra Adventures (Activities Reno Tahoe, LLC). The listing sells it on convenience: a complimentary pickup at any local Reno hotel, help with gear and rental needs, then a four-wheel-drive shuttle to the starting point of the ride. Departures run at 9am and 1pm, and hotel pickups start before those times, so you confirm your exact pickup time with the operator. The listing describes scenic rides toward Lake Tahoe and the surrounding high mountains, or more open forest terrain, chosen for the group's taste. The ride area itself is not named.

The price is $429 and it is sold on Viator. The booking is non-refundable in all cases: all sales are final, with no refund for cancellations, though the operator may cancel for bad weather. Minimum two people per booking, up to 14 travellers per shared group. The ride can be combined with other snow activities after booking, so the listing says to ask for more information once you have reserved. Compared with the Zephyr Cove listings on this site, it is the most expensive and the least specific about where you ride.

Price
$429 per person on Viator. Gratuities are not included and no other mandatory extras are listed.
Duration and riding time
4 hours total for the package. Time actually spent on the sled is not stated within that window.
Check-in and ride area
Pickup at any local Reno hotel or the operator's Reno meeting point. The ride area is not named, only "the Sierra", with scenic rides toward Lake Tahoe and the high mountains or open forest terrain.
Sleds and ages
Single or double sled is not stated. Minimum age to drive is not stated. The listing's price bands start at age 7, and children must be accompanied by an adult.
Gear
The operator helps with gear or rental needs. Gear is not listed as included and no gear prices are published.
Cancellation
Non-refundable. All sales are final with no refund for cancellations. The operator may cancel for bad weather.
Quick answer Hotel pickup in Reno, a riding area the listing never names

This snowmobile tour from Reno costs $429 per person for a four-hour package with hotel pickup, guide, snacks and a 4x4 shuttle, departing at 9am or 1pm with a two-person minimum. The booking is non-refundable and the ride area is not named on the listing.

Key takeaways

What the Price Actually Covers

The $429 covers the logistics from Reno, not a fully dressed snowmobile day. The listing's inclusion list is short, and several things other tours bundle are left out here. The table below reads the inclusion and exclusion lines against what the listing actually states.

Inclusions, exclusions and the gaps

Three things are included: Reno hotel pickup, a professional guide and snacks. The 4x4 shuttle to the start of the ride is part of the package. Everything else is either excluded or simply not stated.

Gratuities are the only formal exclusion, but the gaps matter more: no stated time on the sled, no gear pricing, no named ride area and no lunch. If you want a fixed, itemised two-hour ride with a helmet named as included, that is what the Zephyr Cove listings sell instead.

LineIn the priceNotes
Reno hotel pickupYesAny local Reno hotel, or the operator's Reno meeting point. Confirm exact pickup time with the operator.
Professional guideYesEnglish-speaking per the listing.
SnacksYesSnacks only. Lunch is not included and drinks beyond that are not stated.
4x4 shuttle to the startYesDescribed in the listing text: shuttle via four-wheel drive to the starting point.
GratuitiesNoThe only formal exclusion on the listing.
Snow gearNot statedThe operator helps with gear or rental needs, but gear pricing is not stated.
LunchNoNot included.
Named trail system and sled timeNot statedThe listing names no trailhead and no sled hours within the 4 hours.

Where the money goes

Compared with the Hope Valley Summit tour at $254.40 and the Tahoe Lakeview tour at $286.20, this package costs roughly $140 to $175 more. The difference buys the Reno pickup and shuttle leg, the guide and the snacks, and the flexibility to combine the ride with other snow activities after booking. What it does not buy is a published trail network or a published sled duration, which both South Shore listings do publish.

If you are driving from Reno to the lake yourself anyway, a cheaper South Shore listing may cover the same need, since Reno airport sits roughly 52 miles and about 1 hour 4 minutes by road from the Zephyr Cove area.

Sources: the operator's own listing on Viator, and Zephyr Cove Resort snowmobile information.

A tour van climbing a snowy highway west of Reno toward a Lake Tahoe snowmobile tour

From Reno the ride starts with a drive up into the Sierra.

What the Day Is Really Like

The listing gives the shape of the day but not a minute-by-minute schedule. Here is what it does state, in order, with the two fixed departure times as anchors.

Pickup and the shuttle leg

Your snow adventure begins with a complimentary pickup at any local Reno hotel, or you can meet at the operator's Reno meeting point if you prefer to drive in. Drivers who come to the meeting point get validated parking tickets for a nearby garage. The listing states that hotel pickups commence before the departure times and that you must contact the local service provider to verify your exact pickup time.

Plan to be ready at least 60 minutes before your slot, because the platform logistics list that as the pickup window before departure.

Gear, then the 4x4 shuttle

Once collected, the operator helps your group with any gear or rental needs, then shuttles you via four-wheel drive to the starting point of the snowmobile adventure. The listing does not say how long the drive takes, where the trailhead is or what elevation you reach. That vagueness is the single biggest difference from the South Shore products, which name their trailheads, elevations and shuttle lead times.

Ask where you will ride when you confirm your pickup time.

The ride itself

The whole package runs 4 hours. Within that, the listing describes a choice: scenic rides with world-class views toward Lake Tahoe and the surrounding high mountains, or more wide open terrain with beautiful forests, matched to the group's taste. Time on the sled is not stated.

The ride can be combined with other snow adventures after booking, so if you want to add something, the listing says to ask for more information once you have reserved. Snacks are provided during the outing.

Reno Sierra Snowmobile Tour on Video

A short film from the Reno Tahoe visitor board on snowmobiling in the mountains above Reno. Third-party video by Reno Tahoe. We did not shoot it and have no relationship with the creator.

Who This Tour Rules Out

The listing's own restrictions are moderate fitness, a two-person minimum, an adult companion for children and some health warnings. There is also one bigger honest point: nobody around Tahoe rents a sled for you to ride alone, so if you wanted unguided riding, this tour does not provide it either.

Health and fitness limits

Travellers should have at least a moderate level of physical fitness. The listing is not recommended for travellers with spinal injuries, pregnant travellers or those with poor cardiovascular health. It operates in all weather conditions and asks you to dress appropriately.

If any of that rules you out, there is no alternative version of this product, so consider whether a shorter two-hour ride such as the Tahoe Lakeview tour suits you better, and read what to wear snowmobiling before deciding.

Group and age rules

A minimum of 2 people per booking is required, so a solo traveller cannot buy this package alone. Children must be accompanied by an adult. The listing states no minimum driving age, though its price bands start at age 7, unlike the Zephyr Cove listings which state 16 or older with a licence or ID and passengers 5 or older on a double sled. If age rules are the deciding factor for your family, ask this operator for their rules in writing, and read the beginner's guide to a first snowmobile ride for how the age rules work at Tahoe generally.

If you want a published trail system with named valleys and elevations, or free cancellation, this is not your listing. The Hope Valley Summit tour publishes its trailhead at 7,200 ft climbing to 8,300 ft, sells free cancellation 2 days ahead and runs a free shuttle from the South Shore. Our snowmobiling from a South Lake Tahoe base guide covers that option in full.

A chain control sign on the snowy highway over Luther Pass on the way to a Lake Tahoe snowmobile tour

Chain controls on Luther Pass are a normal part of a snow day.

What to Settle Before You Book

A non-refundable $429 booking on a listing that does not name its trailhead deserves a short checklist. Settle these four things before you pay.

Guided snowmobiles crossing a snowy Hope Valley meadow on a Lake Tahoe snowmobile tour

A guided group crossing a meadow in Hope Valley, south of Lake Tahoe.

Cancellation terms

All sales are final. No refund is available for cancellations, so the $429 is committed the moment you book. The operator may cancel for bad weather, which is the one situation where the day can change without you choosing it.

The listing also says the tour operates in all weather conditions, which cuts both ways: it will run in poor conditions, but you will be out in them. The fix is simple: book late in your trip window, watch the forecast for the Sierra, and never buy this package for a date you might miss. If free cancellation matters to you, the Hope Valley Summit tour allows it up to 2 days ahead.

What to confirm with the operator in writing

Three things are missing from the listing, so ask before paying. First, where you ride: the listing only says "the Sierra", with scenic rides toward Lake Tahoe or open forest terrain, so get the actual trail area and drive time named. Second, how long you are on the sled: 4 hours is the package, not the sled time.

Third, gear: the operator helps with gear or rental needs but prices nothing, so ask what is supplied and what an item costs. Also confirm your exact hotel pickup time, because pickups start before 9am and 1pm and the listing requires you to verify it with the local provider.

What to wear

You will be at Sierra altitude in winter and the listing tells you to dress appropriately for all weather. Wear a layer system: a moisture-wicking base, an insulating mid-layer and a windproof shell. Insulated boots, waterproof gloves and goggles or sunglasses matter more than fashion, because you will be in wind and snow for hours.

Bring sunscreen, since sun at altitude burns even on cold days. Our what to wear snowmobiling guide breaks the layer system down item by item, and remember that the operator supplies no gear list, unlike the Zephyr Cove listings which include a DOT helmet in the price.

Getting to the check-in point

If you take the hotel pickup, your only job is being ready at the confirmed time. If you drive to the operator's Reno meeting point, all guests receive validated parking tickets for a nearby garage. Winter driving out of Reno can hit chain controls in the Sierra.

Under Caltrans R1, chains are required on all vehicles except passenger vehicles and light trucks under 6,000 lb GVW with snow tires on at least two drive wheels. R2 requires chains or traction devices on all vehicles except 4WD or AWD with snow-tread tires on all four wheels. Check Caltrans QuickMap or call 800-427-7623 before you set out.

Public transportation options are available near the meeting point per the listing.

The Outing, Step by Step

The listing fixes two departures a day, 9am and 1pm, and the order of the outing. It publishes no other clock times, so the steps below carry none.

  1. Hotel pickup in Reno

    A complimentary pickup at any local Reno hotel, or meet at the operator's Reno meeting point with validated parking at a nearby garage. Hotel pickups commence before the departure time and you must verify your exact pickup time with the operator.

  2. Gear help at collection

    The operator helps your group with any gear or rental needs before the drive. Ask what is supplied and what costs extra, since the listing prices no gear.

  3. 4x4 shuttle to the start

    A four-wheel-drive shuttle carries you to the starting point of the ride. The listing does not name the trailhead or state the drive time.

  4. The ride

    A guided ride in the Sierra, with the operator matching terrain to the group's taste: scenic rides with views toward Lake Tahoe and the high mountains, or more open forest terrain. Sled time within the 4-hour package is not stated.

  5. Snacks and the shuttle back

    Snacks are included during the outing, then the shuttle returns you to Reno. The return time is not stated.

Pros and Cons

An honest read of the listing, including what it does not tell you.

What we genuinely like

  • The only bookable listing on this site with Reno hotel pickup, so you need no car at all.
  • Guide, snacks and the 4x4 shuttle are in the $429 price.
  • Two departures a day at 9am and 1pm fit both an early start and a slow morning.
  • Terrain is matched to the group, with scenic or open-forest riding described.
  • The ride can be combined with other snow activities after booking.

The honest downsides

  • $429 is the highest price on this site, against $254.40 and $286.20 for the two-hour South Shore rides.
  • All sales are final: no refund for cancellations, so a missed or regretted booking costs the full amount.
  • The ride area is not named, only "the Sierra", so you cannot check the trail or the drive length in advance.
  • Time on the sled within the 4-hour package is not stated, and neither is single or double sled use or a minimum driving age.
  • Gear is not listed as included, and no gear prices are published.
  • The listing carries a rating of 4 from only 4 reviews, a thin record next to 59 reviews on the Hope Valley listing.

Who it's NOT for: Solo travellers, anyone who needs free cancellation, and riders who want a published trail system with fixed two-hour sled time should look at the South Shore listings instead.

Questions About This Reno Snowmobile Package

How much does the snowmobile tour from Reno cost and what is included?

It costs $429 per person and includes Reno hotel pickup, a professional guide, snacks and the 4x4 shuttle to the start of the ride. Gratuities are excluded and gear pricing is not stated. Compare the lines in what the price actually covers.

Where does this tour actually ride?

The listing does not name the area, only "the Sierra", with scenic rides toward Lake Tahoe and the surrounding high mountains or open forest terrain. Ask the operator in writing before paying, and see how other listings name their trails in the Tahoe snowmobile tour comparison.

Can I get a refund if I cancel?

No. All sales are final and no refund is available for cancellations, though the operator may cancel for bad weather. The Hope Valley Summit tour allows free cancellation 2 days ahead if flexibility matters.

How long am I on the snowmobile?

Not stated. The package runs 4 hours in total and includes pickup, gear help and the shuttle, so sled time will be less. Ask the operator for the figure in writing before you book.

Can children ride, and can I book alone?

Children must be accompanied by an adult and a minimum of 2 people per booking applies, so a solo traveller cannot buy this package. No minimum driving age is stated for this listing, and its price bands start at age 7. The general Tahoe rules of 16+ to drive and 5+ to ride as a passenger are explained in the first-ride guide.

What should I wear and bring?

Dress for all weather at Sierra altitude: layered clothing, insulated boots, waterproof gloves and eye protection, plus sunscreen. The operator helps with gear but prices nothing on the listing. Our what to wear guide gives the full layer system.

Is there an alternative if I am staying near the lake instead of Reno?

Yes. The Tahoe Lakeview tour runs 2 hours from Zephyr Cove Resort for $286.20, and the Hope Valley Summit tour runs a free shuttle from South Shore stops. Both are covered in our South Lake Tahoe snowmobiling guide.

If Reno hotel pickup, guide and snacks in one four-hour package fits your trip, confirm the ride area, sled time and pickup time with the operator before you commit.

Bookings run through the operator's platform terms, which for this listing mean all sales are final.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $429 per person Check Availability